Love the way God works…

I’ve removed names from this blog, however you’ll love this account of how God moves and works even when we are not aware of it!

A lady (let’s say A) emailed our church website asking if she could take her sister (let’s say B) to what seemed like a mid-week service. She was coming up to visit her sister from a city in England and thought it would be nice to go to church with her.

A gave me a phone after I replied that we in fact did not have a service that night, however if she wished I would open the church and get a few of the guys round to have a coffee and some fellowship with her and her sister.

So after our AGM on Wednesday I asked 3 folk in the fellowship (I thought in a random manner!) to come for a chat with A and B last night. X, Y and Z all agreed, so last night A and B turned up at the church along with X, Y and Z.

A had moved away a number of years ago, B still lives in town. I was very surprised when we all got there to find out that A and B knew X, and knew her well!

It was also amazing to find that B worked in the same line of work as me, A used to as well.

As we chatted over coffee trying to put B at ease we found that an ex-colleague and friend of B used to live near Y, Y is still in contact with B’s friends.

And then the best one…

When A was telling us about her church, in a large city in Southern England, Z piped up that his sister also goes to that church!

So what I had thought was going to be a meeting of people who barely knew each other turned out to be people with a lot in common who put B at ease allowing her to enjoy a chat and fellowship in a setting (ie in a church without getting “20 questions”) that she was not used to.

So B was in a church and not under pressure.

A will go home encouraged that B has been in church, and met some local Christians.

X, Y and Z went home feeling like the Lord had used them to plant a seed in B’s life. Praise God for the obediance of X, Y and Z in coming out on a cold, dark night when they didn’t really have to! But they were in God’s plans last night!

And I just thank God that even when I wasn’t listening to Him, somehow He guided me to choose the 3 correct people from our fellowship to meet A and B.

Oh yes, you could argue it was one huge coincidence, well the work of the Lord can look like that sometimes. But when you see it again and again and again you realise it is not chance!

We serve a might God who knows what He is doing!

I had another lesson last night in not to be amazed when God does wonderful things!

Thank You Lord!

~ by kishstag on October 26, 2007.

2 Responses to “Love the way God works…”

  1. I just love ot when a plan comes together! Praise God!

  2. Please edit my last comment – change the ‘o’ for an ‘i’ to make it say ‘it’!!!!!!!

Leave a comment